Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (Singleplayer)

This is a public forum for talking about the Call of Duty first-person shooter game series. Discuss singleplayer and multiplayer modes, maps and more.

Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (Singleplayer)

Postby psychedelicsim » February 23rd, 2014, 10:47 pm

Many years ago, I started my first-person shooter games experience by playing the first Call of Duty. I loved it, so I proceeded to buy many of the other games in the series as they were released. My husband recently shared that he was looking for a good sniper game. That lead to me digging out all of my CoD games. The ones I thought he would like were Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare and Call of Duty World at War. I've been playing CoD 4 all weekend and having a blast in the singleplayer campaign. Once Travis gets playing, we'll try out some of the multiplayer maps. I'll start a new thread for discussing those.

cod4mw022314_1.png
cod4mw022314_1.png (565.71 KiB) Viewed 775 times


MORE GAME PLAY SCREENSHOTS COMING SOON
User avatar
psychedelicsim
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 3338
Joined: January 30th, 2014, 1:43 pm
Country: United States (us)

Re: Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (Singleplayer)

Postby lindawing » February 23rd, 2014, 10:58 pm

Cool! I have several friends who have mentioned that they play it. I've never tried it. Looking forward to your screenshots.
User avatar
lindawing
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 9224
Joined: January 30th, 2014, 1:54 pm
Location: South Dakota
Country: United States (us)

Re: Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (Singleplayer)

Postby psychedelicsim » February 23rd, 2014, 11:29 pm

I've added one to the post above. I had to take that one with Fraps. I had been using the F2 key to take them, but all of the ones that I've taken this weekend were nowhere to be found. I tried a couple different screenshot keys, but nothing would work. Very strange! Guess I'll use Fraps until I figure it out. ;-) I'm almost done with the first mission and I had taken A LOT of screenshots, so I'm kind of bummed. :ohno:

The gameplay in CoD4 seems to be a lot easier than in the original CoD. I've actually been able to keep up with everyone, so that's good. :yeah:
User avatar
psychedelicsim
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 3338
Joined: January 30th, 2014, 1:43 pm
Country: United States (us)

Re: Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (Singleplayer)

Postby lindawing » February 23rd, 2014, 11:58 pm

Wow! That's strange! I'll be they're hiding somewhere, like in the appdata area like with MC, perhaps...?
User avatar
lindawing
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 9224
Joined: January 30th, 2014, 1:54 pm
Location: South Dakota
Country: United States (us)

Re: Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (Singleplayer)

Postby psychedelicsim » February 24th, 2014, 12:06 am

I checked AppData, but they weren't there. I'll probably stumble upon them some time when I'm not looking. :evillaugh:
User avatar
psychedelicsim
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 3338
Joined: January 30th, 2014, 1:43 pm
Country: United States (us)

Re: Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (Singleplayer)

Postby lindawing » February 24th, 2014, 1:44 am

One guy I found when Googling it, said this:

C:\Program Files\Activision\Call of Duty 4 - Modern Warfare\main\screenshots


Other people mentioned using the F12 key to take the screenshots, but that may have been for earlier versions.
User avatar
lindawing
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 9224
Joined: January 30th, 2014, 1:54 pm
Location: South Dakota
Country: United States (us)

Re: Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (Singleplayer)

Postby lindawing » February 24th, 2014, 1:56 am

I just found this by another guy:

C:\Program Files\Activision\Call of Duty 4 – Modern Warfare\pb\scrnshot
C:\Program Files\Activision\Call of Duty 4 – Modern Warfare\main\screenshots
C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\call of duty 4\main\screenshots


Also, everyone that seems to know about the screenshots at all, says to use the F12 key.
User avatar
lindawing
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 9224
Joined: January 30th, 2014, 1:54 pm
Location: South Dakota
Country: United States (us)

Re: Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (Singleplayer)

Postby lindawing » February 24th, 2014, 1:57 am

If you're using a 64-bit system, then more than likely the place to look would be in the Program Files (x86).
User avatar
lindawing
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 9224
Joined: January 30th, 2014, 1:54 pm
Location: South Dakota
Country: United States (us)

Re: Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (Singleplayer)

Postby psychedelicsim » February 24th, 2014, 1:06 pm

Thanks for posting those! Unfortunately, I didn't find any screenshots at all. I tried using F12 and F2. When I pressed each one, the game would pause slightly like the screenshot was being taken. I couldn't find them in any of the folders though. I searched all over my hard drive. Maybe it's a bug or I just haven't found the right key combo yet. It shouldn't be this hard to take screenshots. :rotfl:
User avatar
psychedelicsim
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 3338
Joined: January 30th, 2014, 1:43 pm
Country: United States (us)

Re: Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (Singleplayer)

Postby lindawing » February 24th, 2014, 10:05 pm

Do you have any type of a manual that came with the game, that would mention, perhaps, how to do screenshots?
User avatar
lindawing
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 9224
Joined: January 30th, 2014, 1:54 pm
Location: South Dakota
Country: United States (us)

Re: Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (Singleplayer)

Postby lindawing » February 24th, 2014, 10:22 pm

OK...here's an interim solution, since you have Irfanview.

Turn the program on and go to the options menu, then to capture/screenshots (or just press the C key). The first time you do this, configure it to do foreground screenshots (whatever window you are clicked on, like when you are playing any game), and to save the screenies in any folder you like (you may need to create one where you want to save them, or use one that is already created--whatever works best for you), then configure how you want the saved file to be titled. I used "screenshot-###-(%m%d%Y)". Change any other parameters you like, then click the START button. Then just leave the program up while you are playing your game. As long as the program is running in the background (and it uses next-to-no resources, so is very multitask friendly), you will be able to use your defined hotkey(s) to take screenshots that are saved in your default folder.

The next time you want to do this, you don't have to configure. Just press the C key, then click START, and you're ready to go play your game! Woot!
User avatar
lindawing
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 9224
Joined: January 30th, 2014, 1:54 pm
Location: South Dakota
Country: United States (us)

Re: Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (Singleplayer)

Postby psychedelicsim » February 24th, 2014, 10:31 pm

Cool! I'll definitely try that. Thank you!

The manual doesn't go into much detail about taking screenshots. :uhuh:
User avatar
psychedelicsim
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 3338
Joined: January 30th, 2014, 1:43 pm
Country: United States (us)

Re: Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (Singleplayer)

Postby lindawing » February 24th, 2014, 10:55 pm

I left my hotkey at CTRL-F11, unclicked the mouse pointer box (so no mouse pointer is photographed), and made a new folder inside My Pictures, for Irfanview Screenshots. It makes a sound every time your screenshot is taken, and then the screenie appears in the default folder. It works like a charm!
User avatar
lindawing
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 9224
Joined: January 30th, 2014, 1:54 pm
Location: South Dakota
Country: United States (us)

Re: Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (Singleplayer)

Postby psychedelicsim » February 24th, 2014, 11:28 pm

Sweet! I'll let you know how it goes.
User avatar
psychedelicsim
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 3338
Joined: January 30th, 2014, 1:43 pm
Country: United States (us)


Return to Call of Duty

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron